Spread the love

Hits: 302

Johannesburg’s reputation for quieting down over the festive season will end this month when South African and global music fans descend on the city for the most memorable New Year’s party ever, AFROPUNK Joburg. In the spirit of celebrating South African sounds, new African flavours have been added to the lineup for AFROPUNK’s continental debut on the 30th and 31st of December at Constitution Hill. Kwaito legend Thebe, who’s been rocking South African dancefloors since his mid-90s debut in Mafikeng, will be joined by major SA music forcee DJ Cleo, Durban Gqom crew Rudeboyz featuring this year’s breakout star Sho Madjozi, and New York based Ghanaian JoJo Abot.

Also added to the bill are the exciting new artist who won this Saturday’s AFROPUNK Battle Of The Bands, Amplified by Hunter’s Edge final: future kwaito creators Stiff Pap and kasi rock act Automatic Live. They will join Solange, Anderson, Paadk and The Free Nationals, King Tha Vs Blk Jks, Petite Noir, Blitz The Ambassador, Laura Mvula, Black Motion, Theo Parrish, The Brother Moves On, Nakhane, Spoek Mathambo, OKZharp & Manthe Ribane, Nonku Phiri, Gods Sons and Daughters, DJ Lag, DJ Doowap, DJ Kenzhero, Kid Fonque, Urban Village and others on the AFROPUNK Joburg stages.